Skip to main content

Children of Divinity, A Superhero Fantasy by Garth Reasby from Talaria Press

"ReAwakened" By Garth Reasby For Talaria Press

While mankind slumbers, powerful forces plot to use humanity for their own purposes. As Children of Divinity begins, these forces move the pieces into place for a great and terrible awakening.
Our age has turned its back on heroes. 



Cu Chulainn. 

Joan of Arc. 

Their names ring through millenia. They were called gods, heroes, the sons and daughters of divinity. Now myths and legends.
Today we know their kind by another word: 


The Children of Divinity series has introduced thousands of readers across the globe to a world where ancient heroes still walk the earth under the guise of humanity; where monsters and evil men wreak havoc on the lives of average people.

Contained in this volume, are five stories set within the greater Children of Divinity universe, stories that shed light on individual characters, and that expand upon events to give insight into the actions and reactions of our heroes.

Included within are two familiar tales and three never-before-seen stories:

• Jill’s Run – First published in the Quests & Answers anthology, this story tells how a clever and brave teenage girl manages to elude highly trained operatives and wind up in the midst of the opening salvo of a global metahuman conflict.

• It’s my Nature first appeared in Once More upon a Time and gives us a modern retelling of The Scorpion and the Frog, featuring every girl’s favorite team leader, Jason Blackwell, aka Scorp.

• Blackwater shows us that not all metamorphs are wicked creatures like the Crimson Shark and his Vodnik mercenaries.

• The Path to Folly is Short gives us our first taste of what happens after Ascend, and lays the groundwork for the next installment of The Children of Divinity.

And finally,

• Hail to the Chief is a sweet tale of Jillian Law’s pug, Master Chief, set during the first night on their own in a new home. The story shows the sorts of misadventures that can arise when your owner is a superhero and how heart overcomes size.

Get ready to be ReAwakened to the world of The Children of Divinity in a whole new way.

The series can be picked up here.

Sign up for the Akting Out Newsletter and never miss another post. Plus sign up before July 3rd and receive the completed series Universal Warrior: Reclamation AND Era of the Scourge Book 2: Warblooded FREE on November 16, 2015!. 


Popular posts from this blog

The Long Road Home

I will end you tonight. No, wait. That's not where the story starts. The story starts two and a half years before this, when Michelle (referred to as Michelle for legal reasons because SATAN was too heavily trademarked) reached out to me by Facebook. She mentioned that we played the same Facebook game and she wanted to say hi. I had never, in fact, even heard of the Facebook game. But I was freshly broken out of a relationship and she was pretty with a good body so I said "Hurr, okay." Conversation ensues. She tells me we came up in the same place. We did not come up in the same place. We spent one night in San Francisco talking. But I really wanted to sleep with her. So, "Hurr, okay." Fast forward a few months. I've left Missouri for the beautiful Pacific Northwest. I've settled into the ass end of Lynnwood, a suburb of Seattle. The apartment was so bad that the landlord wrote the mold on the wall off as "crayon coloring

America: A True Story About Hatred and Unity

I wanted fast food tonight. That was all. I found myself at Burger King to pick up my wife's order. I was a few cars deep when I spotted the Confederate flag. I surreptitiously snapped a few photos. This was going to be a very different story. When I pull out of Burger King, it turns out there's more than one. In fact, there are four trucks, each flying variations of the flag. I have to go around the front of them to avoid an accident. They're parked right in the middle of the road. As I drive around them, each person in the vehicle makes it a point to ensure I see them. I do. They see me too. When I get to McDonald's (which is in the same lot), I learn that they're not taking debit cards at the moment. Terrific. I wanted chicken nuggets and instead, I get a run-in with the new Confederacy. So I make my way back to Burger King, again appearing in full view of the trucks. I place my order, get it, pay, and pull out. Then one of the

Wave Rocketbook Reviewed

I love writing by hand, and I love notebooks. I'll often devote entire budgets to them and when Officemax has one of their twenty-five cent sales, I'll buy them out. I often draft by hand, finding that the scene comes together more purely when it flows from a pen rather than a keyboard. So when DailyDot advertised a durable new type of notebook that you could use over and over again for the cheap price of twenty-five (thirty after shipping) US Dollars? I'm down. The Wave Rocketbook is meant to be elegant in its design and simple in its execution. The instructions come on the bag itself, and only the pen and notebook are included. The pen feels like any other, so you have to be careful not to mix it into your collection or you will end up marking your notebook with the wrong pen (like I did). The ink is erasable, which is a bonus. A place to put the pen would've been nice, but it clips easily, if not securely, into the ringed binding. The paper is thick and